The belt ranks in Taekwon-Do are divided into 2 groups;

  • Colored Belts or KUP Grades
  • Black Belts or DAN Grades

A total of 19 degrees divided into 6 colors. Each color has its own symbolism.

Colored belts consist of; White, yellow, green, blue and red belt. It is also 2 degrees in each color, ie 10 in total. These start with 10. Kup (degree) and go up to 1st Kup. (degree).

Black belts start at 1st Dan (rank) and end at 9th Dan.

  • 1st to 3rd Dan – Assistant instructor.
  • 4th to 6th Dan – International instructor
  • 7th to 9th Dan – Master
  • 9th Dan – Grandmaster

ITF Belts

Signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.


Signifies the Earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwon-Do foundation is being laid.


Signifies the plant’s growth as the Taekwon-Do skill begins to develop.


Signifies the Heaven, towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.


Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.


Opposite of white, therefore, signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.